Sunday, December 21, 2014

Winter Solstice 2014


Sunlight on Earth, on the day of the winter solstice.
The north polar region of Earth is in 24-hour darkness,
while the south polar region is in 24-hour daylight.
 Gif via Wikimedia Commons. (From Earthsky.)

The Winter Solstice is here. The important thing to know is that at 23:03 UTC (3:03 PM PST, 4:03 PM MST, 5:03 PM CST, 6:03 PM EST) the dark retreats, and light begins its welcome return.

Happy Solstice!

1 comment:

  1. The Winter Solstice marks the beginning to longer days and shorter nights, but it also is the beginning of the coldest, wettest three months of the year. Once we pass May 15th (the last day we've ever gotten snow), all will be well.

    ReplyDelete